Yale University Library

Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Beinecke Digital Collections

Camille Saint-Saëns

Charles-Camille Saint-Saëns (; 9 October 183516 December 1921), also known by his nom de plume, Sannois, was a French composer, organist, conductor, and pianist of the Romantic era. He is known especially for ''The Carnival of the Animals'', ''Danse macabre'', ''Samson and Delilah'' (Opera), Violin Concerto No. 3, Piano Concerto No. 2, Cello Concerto No. 1, ''Havanaise'', ''Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso'', and his Symphony No. 3 (''Organ Symphony'').

Saint-Saëns' large body of music achieved a degree of commercial success as well as critical acclaim, so that he became one of the most popular composers in France during his lifetime. He started out as a child prodigy performer on both organ and piano, and soon began composing. Saint-Saëns earned the Legion d'honneur in 1868 for his work.
Showing 1 - 3 of 3 for search: 'Saint Saëns, Camille, 1835-1921', query time: 0.26s
View: List list Grid grid


Expand Your Search

Search our local catalog, finding aids, and more.

Need assistance?

Ask a librarian.