Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Beinecke Digital Collections
Questions about copyright, permissions, or access, including access to images restricted due to copyright or other reasons? Please visit copyright page.

2010 United States House of Representatives elections in North Carolina

Elections were held on November 2, 2010 to determine North Carolina's 13 members of the United States House of Representatives. Representatives were elected for two-year-terms to serve in the 112th United States Congress from January 3, 2011 until January 3, 2013. Primary elections were held on May 4, 2010 and primary runoff elections were held on June 22, 2010.

Of the 13 elections, the races in the 2nd, 8th and 11th districts were rated as competitive by ''Sabato's Crystal Ball'', while the 2nd, 7th, 8th and 11th districts were rated as competitive by ''CQ Politics'' and ''The Rothenberg Political Report'', and the 2nd, 4th, 7th, 8th and 11th districts were rated as competitive by ''The Cook Political Report''. Of North Carolina's 13 incumbents, 12 were re-elected while one (Bob Etheridge of the 2nd district) unsuccessfully sought re-election.

In total, seven Democrats and six Republicans were elected. A total of 2,662,529 votes were cast, of which 1,440,913 (54.12 percent) were for Republican candidates, 1,204,635 (45.24 percent) were for Democratic candidates, 16,562 (0.62 percent) were for Libertarian candidates and 439 (0.02 percent) were for write-in candidates. As of 2016, this is the last time that Democrats won a majority of North Carolina's congressional districts.

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 for search: 'Rose, Tom', query time: 0.1s
View: List list Grid grid


Expand Your Search

Search our local catalog, finding aids, and more.

Need assistance?

Ask a librarian.