Beinecke Digital Collections Beinecke Library’s collections broadly document human expression and lived experience. Some objects use words or images that are now recognized as offensive and unacceptable; some may have been viewed as unacceptable when they were created. Inclusion of such objects in the digital library is not an endorsement of their language, images, or ideology. Libraries exist to help readers understand and confront history to inform the present in service of the future. Questions about copyright, permissions, or access, including access to images restricted due to copyright or other reasons? Please visit copyright page.
The Toronto Camera Club (TCC) is the oldest photography club in Canada, founded in 1888. It aims "to study and promote the art of photography in all its branches". It is situated in Toronto.
Starting life as a specialized section of the Royal Canadian Institute (RCI), the Photographic Section became an independent organization in 1888. Originally named the Toronto Amateur Photographic Association, the organization changed its name to the Toronto Camera Club in 1891. That year the club began showing exhibits of members' work.
The club held its first "Toronto International Salon of Photography" in May of 1892 with 99 prints exhibited. By 1929 the Salon received over 1,200 entries from 35 countries. That year 370 prints were selected for exhibition.
In 1895 the club allowed women to join with limited privileges. In 1942 the TCC began accepting women for membership with full privileges. In 1952 the club elected Evelyn Andrus as its first woman president.